Monday Q and A Dec 19th!

dscf9583This beauty was sighted in a driveway in Williams Bay.   So…today is Monday q and a.  I compiled a list of all the questions this year and today’s list makes 469 questions. 

Without checking back, I managed to only repeat 2 questions a few times.  It has been fun.  SO without further adieu, Please join in the fun.

  • Have you ever been stuck in an airport?  For how long? Where?
  • Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet?
  • If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create?
  • What is the best yarn store you have ever been to?
  • Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season ?
  • Have you played a fun game and you want to share it?
  • Peppermint or gingerbread?
  • Have you cancelled a subscription lately?  How did the company respond?
  • What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration?
    (they said no gifts, but I just have to)
  • Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please.

My answers:

  1. I have never been stuck at an airport.  But, I didnt’ fly for half my life, so that skews the results a bit right?  If I had enough knitting( and lets face it I pack more carefully for yarn than underwear on a trip), I could probably survive it pretty well.
  2. I have eaten too many holiday goodies already .  The scale is showing it and I have to behave.   Time to nip it in the bud and go back to my one bite rule.  This weight thing is such a drag.  I love all holiday cookies.  Weight watchers says you can eat anything but my scale disagrees.  blah blah blah .
  3. I have stash for 7 pairs of socks.  That’s fresh yarn.  That’s not near enough. Santa better bring more!
  4. The best yarn shop I’ve ever been to: Oh my Gosh I cannot even answer my own question.  I love my old haunt 3 Bags Full in Northbrook.  I have been to great shops though : KnitWits in Virginia Beach area was great, and the Yarnery in St. Paul Minnesota had a great vibe to it.
  5. Our waitress at Pier 290 Saturday night was wearing a santa hat.  Maybe I’ll wear one tomorrow.
  6. I like the game Codenames.  Al also gave me a game called BRING YOUR OWN BOOK that we are going to play this week. You grab a book and skim to find an answer to satisfy the prompt .  ie: Find dating advice in a cookbook.
  7. GINGERBREAD has me in a trance lately.
  8. I am cancelling my subscription to Massage Envy and they are being very sales like telling me to just suspend it.  The lady is so nice I agree.  Can’t I get a scroogy desk person when I want one?
  9. What should I bring dear Mary for her 90th?  It says no presents.  Chocolates seem so routine…
  10. I always always loved to get a new baby doll for Christmas.  I love that plastic baby doll smell.

dscf9557

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “Monday Q and A Dec 19th!”

  1. 1. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where?
    Yes. Twice. (And I’ve only flown twice)
    1st time was in Toronto, waiting for my flight to Chicago (about 2 hour delay). The second time was the following year in Chicago (Midway airport) waiting for my flight home – about 4 hour delay
    2. Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet?
    Yep.. Dave and I already polished off a Fruit Cake
    3. If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create?
    I’ve been busting through my stash over that last couple years… that said, I have at least 10 pair worth in there (probably a touch more)
    4. What is the best yarn store you have ever been to?
    The Needle Emporium in Ancaster. She has a HUGE selection – and I’ve known the owner since I was seven years old. http://www.needleemporium.com/
    5. Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season?
    Do cats on the internet count? Oh wait.. I saw Santa at the mall last week.
    6. Have you played a fun game and you want to share it?
    Nope. Well.. laser pointer with Rupert is pretty fun.. I should get some video of it.
    7. Peppermint or gingerbread?
    Ohh tough call. I like gingerbread marginally better so let go with that.
    8. Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond?
    Nope.
    9. What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration? (they said no gifts, but I just have to)
    A pair of handknit socks…. Failing that – flowers/plants are always a nice gift.
    10. Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please.
    When I was a kid, my brother saved up to buy me a set of wicker furniture for my Barbies. Two chairs, a loveseat and a little table. It was always a favourite.

    Like

  2. Great questions today. . .
    Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where? SanFrancisco about four years ago on the way to Hawaii. The plane I was supposed to board was struck by lightning and my family and I had to wait in the boarding area for nine hours until a replacement plane arrived, was cleared and cleaned. The airline gave us a free ticket to be used within the next year.
    Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet? Far too many. My scale is screaming at me, too.
    If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create? Probably about 50
    What is the best yarn store you have ever been to? Loopy Ewe in Fort Collins, CO is a good one. I’d love to go to Simply Socks in Fort Wayne, IN
    Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season ? Yes, one of the “bell ringers” outside a local store. It’s -10F with wind chill so he’s a hardy and jolly old soul.
    Have you played a fun game and you want to share it? Sequence is a fun game for a crowd as is Mexican Train Dominoes
    Peppermint or gingerbread? Peppermint
    Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond? No, but I didn’t renew several magazines. The publications are not a good fit for me anymore
    What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration?
    (they said no gifts, but I just have to) Take a single rose and as you give it to her with a hug tell her she ijust how special she is to you
    Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please. One gift in particular was useful for decades – an Underwood Manual Typewriter, but a favorite would be the portable reel to reel recorder I received when I was about 10. I wore that thing out!

    Like

  3. What a beautiful picture of the deer. And fun questions!
    1. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where?
    More than once. The worst time was in Denver when our flight home was cancelled. My Dad was with us (in his 80’s at the time). We ended up waiting over 12 hours, but were upgraded to first class on the red eye home.
    2. Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet?
    Oh yes, for sure. Far too many.
    3. If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create?
    I haven’t counted recently, but I am guessing 10-15.
    4. What is the best yarn store you have ever been to?
    I don’t have a particular favorite (not overly fond of the ones near me), but I always love the shops I discover while on vacation. This year it was a store in Brattleboro, VT and one or two in Maine.
    5. Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season?
    Yes – our CFO was dressed as Santa today at our Christmas luncheon.
    6. Have you played a fun game and you want to share it?
    Nope.
    7. Peppermint or gingerbread?
    Well, love them both, but peppermint a little bit more.
    8. Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond?
    Nope.
    9. What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration? (they said no gifts, but I just have to)
    I think a plant (Christmas cactus?) or a framed picture of a loved one.
    10. Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please.
    Dolls and books were always favorites (books still are!!).

    Like

  4. 1. No, but I did get stuck in the train station in NYC trying to get home from Rhinebeck one year. No fun.
    2. Lots. I’ve been hitting the candy canes pretty hard.
    3. Wow….lots. I think I had 70 balls at last count.
    4. Don’t have any near me so I use the fiber fests like a yarn shop. I did visit one in New Orleans that I liked years ago.
    5. Just saw a mail lady at the PO with a hat on.
    6. Not lately. I used to be a big dominoes fan.
    7. See #2.
    8. No. When I retired I cancelled everything and found it hard to do for the most part. They won’t let you go.
    9. Wow. That is a tough one. The only thing we ever give the 97 yo mil is pj’s anymore.
    10. My shortwave radio. I was 13. I loved that thing. It opened the whole world up for me.

    Like

  5. 1. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where? Yes. Several times. In Denver during a stowsrorm for two days was the worst. No hotel available and three kids, 13,9 and 4. NOT an experience to to repeat.

    2. Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet? Nope. I’ve made nothing and haven’t gone anywhere.

    3. If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create? 6 pair. I definitely need more.

    4. What is the best yarn store you have ever been to? Paradise Fibers is located right here in Spokane. Two warehouse floors full of yarn, fiber, spinning wheels and looms. Anything and everything you could want fiber related.
    5. Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season? Only online or in movies.

    6. Have you played a fun game and you want to share it? Not recently.

    7.Peppermint or gingerbread? Peppermint I’ve never cared for gingerbread.

    8. Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond? I’ve tried to cancel Sirius radio for the car. They ended up lowering the price from $180 to $24.95 for the same service. What does that tell you. So I decided to keep it for now.

    9. What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration?
    (they said no gifts, but I just have to). No idea!

    10. Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please. We only ever got one toy for Christmas and a pair of pj’s. We were rather poor and my sister and I shared her doll. One year I asked for a stroller for her doll for us both to use. Santa brought me my very own baby doll AND and stroller. I was shocked and will never forget that my oldest brother told my parents to get both for me in place of his own gift. I didn’t find that out until years later.

    Like

  6. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where?
    Yes…JFK, overnight
    Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet?
    Oh my..far, far too many. I’m like you – I need to stop. Even my 14yo son “tapped out” today!
    If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create?
    20-something
    What is the best yarn store you have ever been to?
    Tolt Yarn and Wool in Carnation, WA…it is so beautiful.
    Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season ?
    All the Salvation Army bell ringers wear them.
    Have you played a fun game and you want to share it?
    No fun games lately… 😦
    Peppermint or gingerbread?
    Gingerbread all the way
    Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond?
    Yes, I cancelled my son’s subscription to Akibento and they couldn’t have been nicer about it.
    What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration?
    I’d bring an African violet.
    Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please.
    I got a “new to me” bike. It was a hand-me-down from a friend of my parents’ and my dad put a new banana seat on it. I thought it was freaking awesome. Then my dad demonstrated its awesomeness in the dining room and broke the brakes…so he had to fix it before I could ride it!

    Like

  7. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where?never but have only flown 3 times in 62 years
    Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet? some peppermint bark
    If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create? maybe 15-20
    What is the best yarn store you have ever been to?MODERN yARNS IN mONTCLAIR
    Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season ? yes the cashier at McDonalds
    Have you played a fun game and you want to share it? no one wants to play games with me
    Peppermint or gingerbread? ehhh
    Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond? yes Kindle unlimited no problems at all
    What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration? a framed photo of someone important to them or one of the two of you together
    (they said no gifts, but I just have to)
    Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please. My baby Thumbilina doll

    Like

  8. 1. I was stuck at Memphis International for 10 hours about 20 years ago.
    2. I’ve eaten too, too many goodies so far this Christmas. Truthfully, I don’t think I have stopped since Thanksgiving.
    3. My current stash would produce only 5 pair of socks.
    4. The best yarn shop I’ve ever been in was in Taos, New Mexico. They had only hand spun yarn dyed with natural dyes.
    5. A few years ago our whole family wore Santa hats everywhere but I haven’t seen any yet this year.
    6. The family played a computerized trivia game at Thanksgiving but I was busy cleaning the kitchen so I don’t know the name.
    7. Peppermint–always!!
    8. I recently cancelled National Geographic because I don’t have time to read it. They were very nice probably because they know I’ll be back very soon.
    9. A pretty shawl or lap cover would be nice gifts for a 90 year old.
    10. When I was 5 years old all my dolls got new four poster beds and lots of clothes, and I got a kitchen. I loved it–I had my own little house in my room.

    Like

  9. Have you ever been stuck in an airport? For how long? Where? I GOT STUCK OVERNIGHT IN SAN FRANCISCO WITH A 11 MONTH OLD BABY WHO’D RUN OUT OF DIAPERS.. HAD TO CARRY HER DRIPPING TO FIND A SHUTTLE TO GET TO THE HOTEL.. I WAS 4 MO. PREGNANT.. HORRIBLE.

    Have you eaten any holiday goodies yet? SOME COOKIES.

    If you made pairs of socks with all the stash you have for socks, how many new pair would you create? 1 PR.

    What is the best yarn store you have ever been to? I HAVE YET TO GO TO THE PERFECT YARN STORE.

    Have you seen anyone wear a Santa hat this Holiday season ? YEP.

    Have you played a fun game and you want to share it? SCRABBLE IN FACEBOOK. WORDS WITH FRIENDS, TOO.

    Peppermint or gingerbread? PEPPERMINT.. BUT I ALSO LOVE GINGERBREAD.

    Have you cancelled a subscription lately? How did the company respond? NO.

    What should I bring to a 90 year olds birthday celebration? CHOCOLATE.

    Tell us a favorite Holiday gift you recall from your childhood please. A FASHION DOLL PRE-BARBIE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

