Elf Socks

DSCF9513.jpgSo, I finished the Elf socks last night.  I do like the result, but I have to tell you the yarn was a fight.  I ordered the yarn from an ETSY sight, RedbirdYarn.  It came promptly but it was splitty.  Especially on the heel flap, I felt like I was wrestling with the yarn.   I turned them inside out and did a three needle bind off for the toes.  I may gift these, I haven’t decided yet. 

I cast on 64 stitches on zero needles.  They are a perfect gauge.  Oh and One of the wooden needles splintered in the process.  

DSCF9516.jpgI”ll be sending these pairs to my great niece and nephew who have December birthdays.  The NEON yarn was purchased with Allison in Minnesota this past winter.    I think they are good for a 10 year old boy.   The purple pinks were a local wool from a Tennessee yarn shop , also with Allison.  I recall it had good bounce. 

I did a nice round toe for the purple pinks.  I did a Russian toe on the neon where you use a crochet hook.   Boy, it sure helps me to keep notes on my Ravelry project page.  

Today, casting on for more socks.  I’m a sockaholic……like Dee.  Wheeeee!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “Elf Socks”

  1. Love your socks – ALL of them! You have been busy, busy, busy!! I can’t seem to get my son’s socks done…not even one…but there is still time. I’m trying not to get stressed out…so far, so good.

    Like

  2. I have officially declared the gift knitting to be finished – on to something for me!

    Your socks all look great. I do hate trying to knit with splitty yarn though – it takes away all of the fun.

    Like

  3. Oh I love the socks! They do look like elf socks! I’m sorry the yarn was uncooperative,that’s always a bummer. My favorites are the purple socks. But then again, purple is my favorite color so that’s no surprise. :-). Have a lovely day my friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  4. Thumbs up for all the socks, but the Elf socks have grabbed my heart for being FUN.

    Splitting yarn and splintering needles does not a happy knitter make. You did an excellent job despite the obstacles.

    Like

  5. I hate knitting with yarn that I don’t love. I do it sometimes — but it makes me crabby!
    I admire knitters who vary the types of heels and socks. I always do a rounded toe and a heelflap.
    I love knitting socks!

    Like

  6. You are on sock fire. And … I approve. I love the neon socks and the purple-pinkies. On viewing, I’m a fan of the stripey elf socks, but as a sock knitter, I was wincing the entire time I read about the splitty fight bringing yarn. ugh. The worst. Here’s to an easy soft squishy pair next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

