Mid-December Monday q and a

DSCF9498.jpgWelcome to Monday q and a!  As they say in the Christmas Carol: Come in and know me better man.  Because that’s what q and a is all about.  Getting to know you better and sharing some  laughs.  Here we go:

  1. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament?
  2. Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn?
  3. Did you buy yarn while traveling this year?
  4. When’s the last time you wore something you knit?
  5. Do you remember your dreams?
  6. What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of?
  7. Deep dish or thin pizza?
  8. Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies
  9. How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit?
  10. What’s the ringtone on your phone?

My answers:

  1. yes I’ve knit a little Christmas bear ornament.  She’s far from perfect, but when I took her out of the paper this year, she charmed me anyhow.
  2. I’m knitting with sparkle yarn now.  Juries out on this one.
  3. Yes!  of course I bought yarn while traveling this year: in Delafield Wisconsin, in Knoxville Tennesee to name two.
  4. The last time I work something I knit: Saturday in the hot tub while the snow came pouring down, I wore my Peruvian alpaca hat and not one hair on my little head got wet!
  5. I wish I didnt’ remember my dreams but oh I do.
  6. I get squirrelly if I run out of Diet Coke in the house.  Seriously, does this mean I’m addicted?
  7. Thin pizza every time
  8. Favorite holiday cd: james Taylor’s Christmas cd
  9. Maybe this is a fireman’s wife thing. I fear leaving a candle lit and having a fire. So I put the lighter with a big piece of red tape on the back door so I can’t leave the house without the reminder.
  10. “Just hear those sleighbells ring a ling” is my ringtone! ho ho ho

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Mid-December Monday q and a”

  1. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament? yes
    Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn?yes
    Did you buy yarn while traveling this year?no
    When’s the last time you wore something you knit?friday–socks
    Do you remember your dreams?yes
    What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of?toilet paper
    Deep dish or thin pizza?either
    Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies baebara streisands christmas album
    How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit? don’t light them
    What’s the ringtone on your phone? its beginning to look a lot like christmas

    Like

  2. Christmas Ornament? Yes, several years ago the Fiber Guild decorated a tress with natural fiber decorations. I knit red birds.
    Sparkle yarn? Hmm, yes, and I didn’t like it.
    Yarn purchase? Does the sun come up every day?
    Wearing knits? I wear hand-knit socks nearly every day.
    Dreams? Some quite vividly.
    Necessary item? Toilet paper – ever been in a public toilet that didn’t have any? It’s not pleasant.
    Pizza? I rarely eat pizza, but I like hand tossed.
    Holiday music cd? Christmas in America – Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers
    Candles? Set a timer
    Ringtone? An authentic ringing phone – anything else and I forget it’s my phone.

    Like

  3. Another bunch of fun questions Kathy!
    1. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament?
    No, but I’ve been printing patterns for cute little things that I will knit AFTER the holidays to get a jump on 2017 Christmas knitting. What???
    2. Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn?
    No – show us what you are making!!!
    3. Did you buy yarn while traveling this year?
    Yes – my favorite souvenir to buy when traveling. This year I bought yarn in both Vermont and Maine.
    4. When’s the last time you wore something you knit?
    Today – socks
    5. Do you remember your dreams?
    Usually I do not, but recently I have been remembering them and let me tell you, some of them are bizarre!
    6. What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of?
    Gratitude and patience (I may have run out of that last one a little bit). Food-wise I guess coffee for my mornings.
    7. Deep dish or thin pizza?
    Thin
    8. Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies
    George Winston’s “December” and Loreena McKennitt’s “To Drive the Cold Winter Away” – her song “Snow” is one of my all time favorites.
    9. How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit?
    I don’t have any tricks, but I need some. Once I came downstairs in the morning to discover a candle had stayed lit ALL Night. Scared me.
    10. What’s the ringtone on your phone?
    Just a regular tone…nothing special.

    Like

  4. 1. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament?
    Yup. I made a little kitty ornament after Russell (Mom’s ginger boy) died last year
    2. Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn?
    Yup – and I love it. Especially our Twinkle Cat! (note to self… dye more Twink!)
    3. Did you buy yarn while traveling this year?
    Nope… but only because I didn’t travel this year. I’m waiting to hear if my company will be doing its annual conference this year, and if I get to go.. may have another trip to Chicago soon!
    4. When’s the last time you wore something you knit?
    Today. I pretty much wear something I knit everyday. I almost always have socks on. But then there’s hats, scarves, mitts, and of course, cardigans!
    5. Do you remember your dreams?
    Frequently. The most recent is: Dave and I were walking in the woods and we came across a train that had derailed into a lake. Instead of calling for help, Dave insisted we try to lift the train cars out of the lake ourselves (I can’t swim).
    6. What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of?
    Cats!
    7. Deep dish or thin pizza?
    Depends on the day – I like both.
    8. Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies
    I don’t listen to a lot of holiday music… but I don’t mind Elvis singing Christmas music.
    9. How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit?
    I make sure all the candles I light are right in easy view.
    10. What’s the ringtone on your phone?
    The Manamanah song from the Muppets.

    Like

  5. 1. No. I want to make the little sweaters and mittens but life keeps getting in the way of my retirement.
    2. Yes, years ago I used to make Daughter’s skating sweaters-sparkly of course. Sparkle yarn is itchy though.
    3. No. We only went to Detroit and I didn’t see any yarn shops in the neighborhood.
    4. Socks always and my lined hat. I wore my new mitts yesterday and just washed up my cowls. Of course it got warm again.
    5. Not the details just the way the dreams make me feel. I love the happy ones.
    6. Diet Coke for me too. I need them for my headaches.
    7. Thin.
    8. That’s a tough one. I like it all but I am partial to Choral music-Vienna Boys Choir stuff or instrumentals like the Piano Guys.
    9. I use those plug in tart warmers. Rarely candles anymore. I am too absent minded for flames. I have notes on the door too to remind me to turn them off.
    10. Some stupid thing from the phone. I hate them all. I don’t know how to go about getting cool ones. I’ll have to look into that.

    Like

  6. What a fun Q & A!!
    1. Many year ago I knit a snowman. I don’t know where the little guy is now.
    2. I have knit with sparkle yarn many times. It’s not a seasonal thing with me. I love sparkle yarn so much I can knit with it year round.
    3. I usually order yarn online. I’m an odd bird–I don’t enjoy hanging out in yarn shops. There is a new one here in Fort Worth that I think I will try.
    4. Yesterday I wore my 4 year-old blue sweater.
    5. I remember my dreams only briefly. They start disappearing when i get up and move around.
    6. I’m a big baker so I must have flour in the house.
    7. Deep dish, deep dish, deep dish!!! Unfortunately I’m the only one in the family that loves it so I usually eat thin crust pizza,
    8. Bing Crosby’s White Christmas. I’m a sucker for Christmas In Killarney.
    9. I don’t light candles anymore because i can never remember them. I only use scent plug-ins and I forget about them too.
    10. All my contacts have different ringtones: Bill is Top Gun, Fireman son is Iron Man, daughter Bethany is You’re The One That I Want from Grease and so on. My text message notification says, “You-who text message.”

    Like

  7. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament? I sent three colorwork mitten ornaments to my grandsons earlier this month. Last year I knit an owl.
    Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn? Not really my style.
    Did you buy yarn while traveling this year? Of course
    When’s the last time you wore something you knit? Currently wearing socks
    Do you remember your dreams? sometimes
    What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of? coffee
    Deep dish or thin pizza? thin
    Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies – Mannheim Steamroller
    How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit? place it in plain sight
    What’s the ringtone on your phone? Harp

    Like

  8. 1. No.
    2. No.
    3. Hell yeah; a skein of sock yarn dyed to represent Pike’s Place flower mart or something on the last day of our Seattle trip at So Much Yarn.
    4. I also crochet so I wore this headband to Novato this past weekend.
    5. Not really.
    6. Tea
    7. Thin crust pls.
    8. I like Christina Aguilera’s “My Kind of Christmas” album; I love her powerhouse vocals and the song, “O Holy Night,” is my favorite song even though I don’t go attend church or am religious.
    9. I always keep the candle nearby where I’m hanging out I guess. I haven’t lit one for ages.
    10. Apex is my general ringone for those I don’t know. Only immediate family gets their own individual ringtones.

    Like

  9. Have you ever knit a Christmas Ornament?
    I don’t think so. I did make you that little entrelac heart one year which I think is technically an ornament.
    2. Have you ever knit with sparkle yarn?
    No. Too glitzy for me.
    3. Did you buy yarn while traveling this year?
    Yes! Knoxville bought two Juniper Moon yarns, loved both. Fiber Christmas in July in Tulsa I bought a few things.
    4. When’s the last time you wore something you knit?
    Sunday- one of my most successful sweaters. An interweave cabled cardigan I finished almost 10 years ago.
    5. Do you remember your dreams?
    Yes and they’re almost always stressful. Recurring dreams include: 1. The breaks giving out on my car on a steep hill 2. I’m not going to graduate high school because I haven’t gone to gym class all semester (always gym!)
    6. What’s the one thing you don’t want to run out of?
    Coffee and zofran.
    7. Deep dish or thin pizza?
    Thin Chicago style
    8. Name a favorite holiday music cd, or album for us oldies
    Jewel’s Holiday CD and Michael Buble. Also Vince Garibaldi whatever because you always play that!
    9. How do you remind yourself a candle has been lit?
    Post it on the door. But I still worry I forgot. Just the other night I texted Nathan “text me when you get home and tell me I didn’t leave the stove on. I know I didn’t I just want to hear it “.
    10. What’s the ringtone on your phone?
    Nothing exciting and it’s on silent 90% of the time. Makes it difficult when I lose it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

