Capucine Toddler Hat Gift

unnamed-1

Our great niece Emma in her Capucine hat gift.

I altered the pattern for a child.   I winged it.  It worked!  Christmas magic!

This hat is knit on straights at first and then you change to the round, so there is no seaming.   

After thoroughly enjoying the Great American Bake Off last night, I feel compelled to 

a) bake a Christmas cake of unprecedented detail of which I am completely incapable of

b) bake Gingerbread men 

and 

c) share my favorite bar cookie recipe with you now:

this is an old favorite of mine. 

Go to Verybestbaking.com and search their Chocolatey Raspberry Crumb Bar recipe.   You need sweetened condensed milk, cupboard handy stuff,  nestle semi sweet chips, and a good raspberry jam.  

I’m not a good baker, but everyone loves these bars and asks for the recipe. 

Happy December!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Capucine Toddler Hat Gift”

  1. I’m not a happy baker but every once and a while I get the urge for something in particular.
    Like a gingerbread man from my great-grandma’s recipe. Mom dug through the archives and found it! I hope to make one tomorrow!
    The hat is an absolute delight! Great job on the knitting and altering!!!

    Like

  2. I love to bake but don’t do it much anymore because it’s just Hubby and I and we don’t need it. That hat is so perfect for her. It will definitely keep her warm this winter. Great job!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  3. Emma’s little hat is adorable!

    Didn’t you feel SO bad for Nancy. She just couldn’t bake anything to save her life. I knew she was going to be the first one gone.

    Like

  4. Oh my word, that is the cutest hat I’ve seen in a long while!!! Great job Kathy!! I’m having trouble believing that this year is almost over and that Christmas is only–too small number–days away. I need to speed up the shopping and baking!

    Like

  5. Oh my gosh! The hat is the most adorable ever! You did a fabulous job Kathy. I looked at that chocolate/raspberry bar recipe and I may have to make those along with some other cookies. Don’t need them but I sure do want them!

    Like

  6. Oh, man….I forgot the Bake Off was back on. I need to go see if I can watch it On Demand.
    The hat is adorable and I am intrigued by the construction. I need to go have a look.

    Like

  7. I love that your Christmas magic worked on the hat. She’s super cute in it. Can you ask her if her little shirt comes in my size? What an adorable kid and outfit — accessories included, of course!

    I love when baking inspiration hits. I love even more finding a recipe that intrigues me and I feel required to make. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

