Last 5 Monday q and a’s

Wow, we have kept it up all year.   I want to thank you all for playing along and having fun with this.  I so enjoy getting to know you more through your answers. 

Come in , Come in, and know me better man” Charles Dickens Ghost of Christmas Present says.  

*#1 

Have you copied a good idea lately? 

(yup.  See the mirror hung upside down?  Saw that at a Lake Geneva store.  Now I need a simple swag on top to finish it off)

#2

Have you seen a shooting star? 

(yup.  When we are out in the hot tub at night, I almost always see one shooting star. Then I have to take turns wishing on it, one night I wish for AL the next for Zach )

#3

Have you found a lost yarn tag?

(Yup. I found the tag to the sock yarn I’m knitting with now.  It is Holly and Ive Dyeworks from the Knoxville trip in Firestorm)

#4

Have you tried a new recipe recently? 

(yup.  The Dill bread in the photo above.  I wouldn’t recommend it.   It was made with cottage cheese and yeast and dill.   Somehow a container of dried dill made its way into my cart without my knowing the other day.  So I came home and decided to find a dill bread recipe.  It was not bad, but we have a fondness for another bread I make and this #*

#5

Did you save the wishbone from the turkey and have a pull?

(no.  But this was something we did all the time growing up)

#6 

How many knit gifts do you plan to give before the New year?

(6.  So far.  I’m giving cowls to two friends this week at our annual gathering.  I mailing gift hats to Minnesota today and I’m sending a gift hat to a great neice today.)

#7

When are you most hungry? 

(Dinner hands down.  I can go for hours in the morning and not eat. Always have been this way)

#8

Do you like highway driving?

(No no no.  I have to put on my big girl pants and drive this week. I’m starting to think about really limiting trips back to Illinois to just trips to see mom. I think that shows me I’ve adapted much better than I ever imagined.  I’m giving up my old places and am quite happy living and shopping and the like, right here IN lake Geneva)

#9

If someone could finish a knit in progress for you what would it be? 

(That never ending sock leftover blanket.  I am so ready for it to be done done done.  I refuse to cast off though at this point.  It is too short and I haven’t worked this hard for a lap cover. )

#10

Do you love your winter boots or shoes ? 

(I need a new pair so I’m asking for advice from the cold weather folks)

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

9 thoughts on “Last 5 Monday q and a’s”

  1. I love your Q & A Mondays Kathy!! Thanks for sticking with it.
    1. Yes I’ve copied! I copied Nancy’s microwave bowl idea for Christmas gifts. I’m so happy with them because they are quick, easy and useful.
    2. I saw a shooting star about a month ago but when I am outside at night I’m usually watching for coyotes and not stars.
    3. I wish I could say I’ve found a tag or two because I’ve has some close calls after knitting with untagged yarn. Tip: If you don’t know what it is, wash it by hand!
    4. I made Hawaiian bread rolls for Thanksgiving. Every one thought I bought them. I don’t know if that’s a compliment or not.
    5. Someone in our clan always grabs the wishbone then we all choose sides and hold on to each other while two pull the bone. That way we get a lot of wishes on one wishbone.
    6. So far I have 15 Christmas knit and hand sewn gifts: 8 knit and 7 sewn.
    7. I need a BIG breakfast then I don’t care if or what I eat the rest of the day.
    8. Highway driving is a necessary evil in Texas. If you want to go anywhere you will drive on a multi-lane highway.
    9. I would definitely give my Stash Sweater over to an angel to finish seaming it.
    10. Gotta have cowboy boots! Not the high heel variety but Roper boots with flat heels and shorty tops and cute decorations.

    Like

  2. *#1 Have you copied a good idea lately?
    I’m sure I have but don’t remember what.

    #2 Have you seen a shooting star?
    All the time in summer at camp and many times over my life.

    #3 . Have you found a lost yarn tag?
    Yep, but I’m bad about keeping them together.

    #4 Have you tried a new recipe recently?
    Probably but can’t remember what.

    #5 Did you save the wishbone from the turkey and have a pull?
    Dayle did save it but our son tossed it.. lol.

    #6 How many knit gifts do you plan to give before the New year?
    None. 🙂

    #7 When are you most hungry?
    Dinner.

    #8 . Do you like highway driving?
    I like all kinds of driving.. got it from my truck driver dad.

    #9 If someone could finish a knit in progress for you what would it be?
    My Hitchhiker scarf.. poor thing languishes.

    #10 . Do you love your winter boots or shoes ?
    I use the same shoes winter and summer. I’m not a big shoe person.. they just need to work. 🙂

    Like

  3. Has it been a year already? Time sure flies….
    1. I copy ideas all the time. Today I copied a wedding arch for the Snow White number from You Tube.
    2. Yes, lots. When we first moved out here we looked all the time. Now, not so much.
    3. All the time. I find them after I don’t need them anymore, of course.
    4. I made some chocolate chip vegan cookies for son and they were delish.
    5. Son saved it but no one wanted it so he tossed it.
    6. None. I can’t even find time to finish up what I have going.
    7. Dinner and bedtime. I fight the urge to raid the fridge all night long.
    8. I don’t mind it. I had a long commute on the Washington Beltway for 20 years so I am used to it.
    9. It’s not knitting, it’s my crocheted blanket. I hate to crochet.
    10. I wear Crocs all year. In the winter I put on my thick handspun socks. It works for me.

    Like

  4. I’m so sad that this is the last one. Thank you so much for doing this series. It has been a LOT of fun.
    My answers are over at my blog (along with a picture of a special new friend I made this weekend).

    Like

  5. #1 Have you copied a good idea lately? I borrow ideas all the time for quilts.
    #2 Have you seen a shooting star? Yes, many. In this area there’s not much light pollution, so the night sky is full of wonderful things to see.
    #3 Have you found a lost yarn tag? They rarely get separated from the yarn. I cake the yarn and wrap the label around the outside.
    #4 Have you tried a new recipe recently? No, I don’t cook or bake much anymore.
    #5 Did you save the wishbone from the turkey and have a pull? Haven’t done that since I left home. I do have one from 1975 that I put on my Christmas tree.
    #6 How many knit gifts do you plan to give before the New year? None
    #7 When are you most hungry? About 3-4 PM
    #8 Do you like highway driving? In this area, yes I do (not a lot of traffic), but not near the city.
    #9 If someone could finish a knit in progress for you what would it be? Crochet thread bandages.
    #10 Do you love your winter boots or shoes? I wear sneakers year round.

    Like

  6. 1. I borrow ideas for cards a lot.
    2. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a shooting star.
    3. No; I used to keep yarn tags and then recycled a whole bunch, but now I’m keeping them again as I’m bad about labeling the loeftovers.
    4. Yes! I’m trying out My Korean Kitchen’s Slow Cooker Spicy Braised Chicken and Potatoes right now. The food’s marinating in spicy gochujang sauce and flakes.
    5. No. I was going to make stock out of the carcass for our jook but it’s too big for our crock pot and we have no room after the Costco run so it got composted.
    6. Three pairs of socks; on the last one! Hmmm…actually I need to finish a pair of mitts for Jellybean’s kumu too.
    7. Every few hours
    8. I guess yes.
    9. A dishcloth
    10. I’m trying to wear cold weather shoes more; it’s hard to transition after kicking out about in my Birkenstock wanna bes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

