Thanksgiving Week Monday Q and A

Happy Thanksgiving Week 2016  Lets play Question and Answer.  I’m thankful for you playing along, it really helps me know you better!

*So it got cold here!  What’s a silver lining for you and the cold? (the crazy bugs are dead.  I’ve never seen so many bugs now that we live in the countryside.  Box elder beetle invasion was nothing short of creepy at first!) 

*Did you have an AHA! moment while knitting this weekend?
(I did!  I realized my never ending blanket would have ended it I hadn’t knit it in the round.  It would be twice as long and done!  See the little blue yarn above?  That’s the END of a leftover ball of sock yarn.  Made me feel so frugal to have knitting that leftover baby to the end!)

*Have you begun your holiday Thanksgiving prep or baking? (It’s officially Thanksgiving week.  I made the cranberry bread you see in the images, yesterday. It is Martha Stewarts quick bread recipe.  Fireman says it was the best loaf ever, because you add the entire 12 oz bag of crans to the batter.  )

*Have you stepped out of your fashion comfort zone lately? (Yes, and this does not mean I got out of a sweatshirt!  It means I bid on a rather glitzy gold purse at the shelter Gala, and won it.  So I am using my glitzy purse whilst wearing my Jeans and usual.  Tim Gunn would shudder at the mix !)

*Did I thank anyone this weekend?  (you bet!  I’ve thanked our realtor in Wisconsin. She didnt tell us that while we sat in our hot tub under the stars we’d see fireworks from a hotel on the lake too!)

*Do you knit when your family visits? (of course! ) 

*Has your cat caught a mouse in the house? (Caught this weekend, killed not quite.  I’m sure the mouse died of fright with four cats tossing it around.  )

*Are you buying any Thanksgiving components? (Yes.  GOing to the Elegant Farmer to buy their pie in a bag tomorrow.  You can’t beat it.  My sweet mom was the first to say, “Oh just buy it” 

*Are your hands cold?  (Visiting mom this weekend, was a joy.  She was so funny and sweet.  When I went to hold her hands she shrieked, OH MY GOD YOUR HANDS ARE LIKE ICE!   and she’s right.  Time for my angora fingerless!)

 

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

15 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Week Monday Q and A”

  1. *So it got cold here! What’s a silver lining for you and the cold? I love sitting inside on a cold snowy day, all wrapped up in warm blankets, with warm kitties!
    *Did you have an AHA! moment while knitting this weekend?
    Yep! When I realized I didn’t have ANY Christmas knitting left to do this year. I’ve only knit one gift, and that’s all I’m doing this year. I feel so free!
    *Have you begun your holiday Thanksgiving prep or baking? It’s not Thanksgiving here, but I did make a lemon meringue pie. I think I may make Dave some peanut butter cookies today.
    *Have you stepped out of your fashion comfort zone lately? I put on running shoes and went for a walk the other day… does that count?
    *Did I thank anyone this weekend? Dave… for trying in vain to fix my car. It has to go to a shop tomorrow, but I appreciate that he tried to save me some money.
    *Do you knit when your family visits? Naturally!
    *Has your cat caught a mouse in the house? A few years back. Dave kept getting mad at her for opening the kitchen cupboards. He didn’t want to believe me when I told him she was watching for mice under there. Then he went away for the weekend, I was up in bed with the boys, and I heard a big crash down stairs. A few minutes later, the mighty hunter came up and dropped her kill proudly at my feet.
    *Are you buying any Thanksgiving components? Nope. I do have a nice squash to cook sometime this week.
    *Are your hands cold? Almost always. I have cold feet too. I guess it’s a good thing I can knit mitts and socks!

    Like

  2. *What’s a silver lining for you and the cold? After the first good snow, my allergies are MUCH better.
    *Did you have an AHA! moment while knitting this weekend? I cleaned out my knitting and notion bags – clutter doesn’t make knitting easier.
    *Have you begun your holiday Thanksgiving prep or baking? No, it’s just me this year, so no prep.
    *Have you stepped out of your fashion comfort zone lately? I don’t have a fashion zone . . . hee, hee
    *Did I thank anyone this weekend? Yes, the cable guy came to do some work, and he shoveled my deck just to be nice – such a sweet gesture that I appreciated.
    *Has your cat caught a mouse in the house? No cats (or mice, thankfully) in my house.
    *Are you buying any Thanksgiving components? Not this year
    *Are your hands cold? Yes, frequently. I think it’s a thyroid thing.

    Like

    1. Nancy, I want you to come by me for Thanksgiving! Im thankful for you. It is just Fireman and me this year but that’s fine! We are seeing cousins on friday and saturday. My kiddos come for Christmas so I dont mind them not here for turkey day.

      Like

  3. 1. I’m with you on saying goodbye to the bugs. I can finally go outside again.
    2. Nope. No knitting here. I think I’ve forgotten how.
    3. No. I’m making a cake to take but I’ll do it Wednesday night. We make cookies while watching the parade every year. SIL puts the turkey on the grill so the oven is free.
    4. No. I am a dinosaur. I did buy a ton of Halloween tees at Walmart. They were 59 cents.
    5. One of our new adult skaters is a seamstress. I thanked her royally for taking that load off of me. I’m bringing her soap next week for even more thanks.
    6. No. I get yelled at. They think it’s weird plus I have the two little baby grands to wrangle.
    7. Not inside. The outside cats are our best line of defense. They bring one now and again.
    8. I’m not hosting this year so I’m not doing much of anything.
    9. No probably because they are never still-that and those darn hot flashes.

    Like

  4. Happy Thanksgiving Kathy!!

    1. No bugs (or almost none – still finding stink bugs – yuck) and I can wrap up in a blanket!!
    2. No AHA moment, but at least I knit…that’s progress.
    3. I plan to make cranberry chutney tonight or tomorrow…pie crusts on Wednesday and I’ll bake pies on Thursday.
    4. Well, I’m in a skirt, sweater, tights and boots today. Not uncomfortable, but not my usual jeans for work.
    5. I thanked my husband for a bunch of stuff this weekend.
    6. I always think I will, but I never do.
    7. Not recently, thank goodness. But plenty of mice and moles and voles outside. One time when we came back from vacation I picked up what I thought was a catnip toy off the living room floor – it was a dead mouse! OMG…I pretty much freaked out.
    8. Nope. Son and girlfriend are cooking most of the meal. I’m making a chutney and pies.
    9. Always – and my feet too. Even in the dead of summer!

    Like

  5. 1. My silver lining is being able to bake without having to turn down the A/C and turn on a fan.
    2. I had an AHA! moment when I was stitching my stash sweater together and discovered a dropped stitch at the back neck. So glad I caught that!!
    3. Thanksgiving prep–I’m making cranberry sauce today. My kids will not eat the stuff out of the can but I love it so I open a can for me.
    4. I love the idea of your glitzy purse with jeans! I bought kitten heels to go with a Christmas outfit. I’ve never worn them before. I’ve always worn high, really high or flat, no in between.
    5. I didn’t go out this weekend, but I thanked Bill for helping me clean the fridge to make room for Thanksgiving dishes.
    6. I knit during family visits and any other place. There is always a project in my bag. Once when my son was helping me out of the car, he asked why my purse was so heavy. Without missing a beat granddaughter Samantha said, “Yarn.”
    7. No cat. Macy caught a squirrel on Saturday. It surprised her as much as the squirrel! It was a catch and release.
    8. Yes to Thanksgiving components. I bought Hawaiian bread mix. Love it!!
    9. My hands and feet are always cold. Bill begs me not to touch him until I warm them.

    Like

  6. *So it got cold here! What’s a silver lining for you and the cold?
    Just the coziness of having our pellet stove blazing.

    *Did you have an AHA! moment while knitting this weekend?
    Nope.

    *Have you begun your holiday Thanksgiving prep or baking?
    Nope.. will be plenty busy in a few days.

    *Have you stepped out of your fashion comfort zone lately?
    Fashion? I gave up on that years ago.

    *Did I thank anyone this weekend?
    We stayed in this weekend, but I thanked family members often.

    *Do you knit when your family visits?
    I crochet when visitors are here.. knitting takes too much concentration. 🙂

    *Has your cat caught a mouse in the house?
    Actually our dog has caught and killed at least 2 mice in the house, 2 moles in our yard and 3 or 4 snakes have been slain by our Buddy.

    *Are you buying any Thanksgiving components?
    We did our TD shopping on Wed of last week. All set.

    *Are your hands cold?
    Nope.. I have warm paws. 🙂

    Like

  7. Wishing you a very happy Thanksgiving in your new home.

    I DID step out of my fashion comfort zone and it was just today.

    It’s cold here in Florida. I bought a flannel shirt and a pair of sweat pants. By all that is holy, I WILL be warm tonight!

    Like

  8. Fun ida!

    *So it got cold here! We actually had some sunshine yesterday

    *Did you have an AHA! moment while knitting this weekend?
    Yes – I realized a shawl that I have blocked twice was never going to lay flat and that it wa destined to be frogged.

    *Have you begun your holiday Thanksgiving prep or baking? I went to three stores so I have all the stuff – today I will clean and then start cookin

    *Have you stepped out of your fashion comfort zone lately? I actually bought two new tops that are not black or grey!

    *Did I thank anyone this weekend? I did – I thanked a barista who seemed to having a tough day
    *Do you knit when your family visits? Sometimes

    *Has your cat caught a mouse in the house? No cats in my house

    *Are you buying any Thanksgiving components? I bought paper napkins for the first time in years but we are waiting for a new baby to be born so I wanted to simplify clean up

    *Are your hands cold? funny! I was getting a blood draw yesterday and the tech commented on how cold my hands were

    Like

Leave a Reply

