Accidental Swatches

My knitting is not settled lately.  I’m casting on, leaving on and moving on. I will call this gauge swatch knitting (which is laughable though because I never do a swatch, I’m too impatient) 

Top left : angora fingerless.  I’ll certainly finish this and make the other partner. 

Top right:  alpaca Cowl from pattern Staightforward Cowl.  I’m frogging it.  Look at those awful garter stitches.  Garter doesn’t like me.  I think I will make the cowl but just modify it for stockinette with a garter border.  

There’s an upside!  The fibers are so delicious in both projects that my whole self is happy just touching it.   

Here’s my own advice to me:  Update that Ravelry project page.  I nearly lost my blog a little big ago and were it not for the project page, I’d have lost my precious list of finishes.  Poof, gone forever.  

(Oh and let me just tell ya, , my Holiday gift giving for my family got exponentially easier with the Cubs World Series win, if you know what I mean! )  

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Accidental Swatches”

  1. I love the angora mitt beginning. The finished pair will be beautiful! I used to feel like you do about garter stitch but it has become smoother recently, or I have become better at it (smoother?) since some of my old garter projects. At least now I don’t run away when I see a pattern using garter stitch.

    Like

  2. Yes, I agree. I really use Ravelry. I know many knitters are doing that knitter’s notebook thing but I personally don’t have time to that. I always log in notes on project pages because I recently had a snafu with an app where everything got freakin’ deleted probably because I had the app opened and I guess if my phone was touching something, something happened to cause the loss. And look at that fluffiness!!!

    Like

  3. Love your fingerless mitt. Looks so soft and cozy. I finally seem back in a groove with my knitting – thank goodness…and it seems to be calming me and/or settling me somewhat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

