Mindful Saturday….Am I there yet?

unnamed-1I’m trying to practice mindfulness today.  Ha!  I’ve already failed a few times.  That’s okay there are more minutes in the day and I seem to be able to be PRESENT for only about a minute anyhow.  

My patterns are learned, and my mom (God Love her, asleep for our entire last visit) was so good at worrying about the future.  She really considered it part of her job to worry about all of us all the time, and our friends and our friends friends.   My father was a worrier too but he wouldnt ever admit it.   It came from a place of deep caring, but it manifested in a family that can act like rats in a coffee can.  

So being in the here and now is a real task for me.  Some of the ways I can be truly engaged in the moment involve this craft of knitting. 

When I use a chart I have to think think think and it keeps me centered.  

When I was working the Gala room, last weekend, for the benefit I was fully involved and focused.   By the way we achieved our fundraising goals and it was hugely successful.  

When Fireman and I are in the woods doing physical labor and cutting brush, I get lost in the work of it.   I’m outside, it feels good to be accomplishing something. 

Zach is taking salsa lessons and he says it is a great workout and he has to focus. 

Do you work on being PRESENT and not worrying? 

What are the things you do that get you so focused you can escape the constant chatter in your mind?  What? You don’t have constant chatter ?   It’s just me?  If it is I better find Charles Schultz Lucy and get some advice !  

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Mindful Saturday….Am I there yet?”

  1. No, it is not just you who has constant chatter in your mind! I would be a basket case if not for knitting and sewing projects. The thing, however, that makes me the most focused is accounting. That is unfortunate because I would probably have retired long before now if I didn’t need the relief. It is a two edged sword though, stressed and scattered at certain times and zen at others.

    I love the fact that Zach is learning to Salsa dance!! I love to watch it but don’t know if I have that kind of energy any more.

    Like

  2. Soft music and/or knitting and sewing help me stay focused, but in a crowd, if I’m not busy with a task, I tend to pull inward.

    My knees would not allow me to even try salsa dancing. I’m lucky to even be able to go up and down stairs without pain. I hope you talk to your mom while she’s sleeping: I’m sure her subconscious could hear you.

    Like

  3. I try to think of sailing out of a bay into a clear lake in the sun with puffy clouds to look at when I’m feeling stressed. And my mind is full of way too much right now, so I’m trying to talk hubby into taking me out to lunch and to a craft show this afternoon. 🙂

    Like

  4. I chatter all day but it fuels my creativity so it doesn’t bother me anymore. I also used to worry about being a worrier but I find it has a purpose also so I am over it. The one thing that old age teaches you is that most things are there for a reason-so just go with it.

    Like

  5. Being mindful all the time is HARD! But, like you, I’m gonna keep trying.

    There are times when there is so much running through my mind and most of it ….is just wasteful thinking.

    Like

  6. First of all, I have to be physically comfortable to even have a chance at mindfulness. Otherwise, there’s no chance that my thoughts will be clear: “Dang, my ear itches!” “That shirt seam digging into my side is driving me nuts.”

    Like

  7. I am always in the now-way before it was a ‘mindful’ thing. Not everyone understands how I do it but when I am DOING something, I am doing it 100%-nothing else exists.
    My husband is never in the now so between us two, we make a balance! lol

    Like

  8. Spending time with good friends, knitting and enjoying nature/hikes in the woods are very helpful for me in achieving a peacefulness. But I still worry a lot.

    Like

  9. Complicated knitting is one of those things I use to bring me back to the here and now, and let worries go. If I’ve got a specific problem that needs to be hashed out, I use forward movement. A bike ride is top on my list for that, but additionally a long drive in a car, a motorbike ride, a walk, anything with forward movement helps make me consider all options and come up with solutions rather than worrying myself silly over a specific problem.

    Like

  10. I really need silence and quiet to center myself, to be focused. So for me, a quiet walk if the house is busy. Or if I am home alone, then I can sit and knit – but mostly, I need to just focus internally – no “busy work”.

    Like

  11. I am a chronic worrier who is in rehab. I have found to accept myself for who I am. I know that if something is screaming in my head it dims in 48 hours (usually). Talking to others helps. And KNITTING!! that is where my comfort is 🙂

    Like

  12. I have been practicing mindfulness for about three years now, and I can’t imagine how stressed out I’d be without it! I love that it’s called a “practice” because I know I’ll never master my “monkey mind.” I try to meditate for10 minutes most days. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but it helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

